Louisiana motorists are required by law to carry liability insurance. However, for various reasons, people sometimes find themselves between coverage, late on payments or otherwise uninsured.
Unfortunately, if you are involved in an accident while uninsured, you may face penalties for driving without insurance.
With a strong and determined attorney on your side, however, you can still make the best of your situation. Let our car accident attorneys at Pierce & Shows Baton Rouge personal injury firm help you navigate the accident aftermath if you have no insurance.
What is Louisiana’s “no pay, no play” law?
Louisiana is one of 11 states with a “no pay, no play” law. The Louisiana state law was established in 2011, and it states that drivers cannot receive the first $15,000 for bodily injury or $25,000 for property damage if they are uninsured during an automobile accident.
As you likely know, this is because it is illegal to drive in the state of Louisiana without a minimum liability insurance of:
- $15,000 for bodily injury to one person
- $30,000 for bodily injury to more than one person
- $25,000 for property damage
It is also important to note that drivers who are late on their car insurance premiums may face the consequences of the no pay, no play law. Insurance companies may have the right to claim drivers weren’t covered under the policy due to late payments, which would make them, for legal purposes, uninsured drivers at the time of the accident.
Therefore, it is highly recommended that all Louisiana drivers carry at least the minimum liability insurance, so they are able to recover damages if they are in an accident. Without it, you will need a strong lawyer at your side to help you seek justice.
Exceptions to Louisiana’s no pay, no play law
There are several exceptions to the no pay, no play law in Louisiana.
Drivers who meet these exceptions can avoid penalties for driving without insurance.
These situations can include the following:
- Out-of-state drivers
- Drivers who meet the law’s requirements with only the minimum liability coverage and comprehensive coverage is not necessary
- Drivers who are parked at the time of the accident
- Drivers who are in or driving a car they do not own are not held to the no pay, no play law during that accident
- Drivers who break certain other laws will not be held to the no pay, no play law. These other laws include fleeing the scene, driving while intoxicated, in the commission of a felony, or intentionally causing the accident.
What penalties could you face for driving without insurance in Louisiana?
The no pay, no play law bars uninsured drivers from recovering damages after an accident. However, in addition to losing out on payouts, uninsured drivers could face serious penalties for breaking the law by driving without insurance.
The consequences for driving without the minimum liability insurance could include:
- Fines between $500 and $1,000
- Suspension of the driver’s license, which could be up to six months for at fault drivers
- Impounding of the driver’s vehicle
- Revoked car registration
- Revoked license plates
Additionally, uninsured drivers found at fault for their accidents may have to pay all of the driver’s expenses out of pocket. Expenses could include medical bills, lost wages, pain and suffering damages, and more.
Contact Pierce & Shows Louisiana Attorneys Today
The consequences for driving without liability insurance may seem overwhelming at first. However, there is still hope and support for uninsured drivers, even after they are found at fault for auto accidents. It all starts with calling a Louisiana car accident attorney.
Contact Pierce & Shows Baton Rouge attorneys today for a free consultation. Our reliable team has over 60 years of combined experience navigating the Louisiana automobile accident landscape, and we are prepared to stand by your side as you move forward after your accident.