Louisiana is one of the top ten most dangerous states to drive in, and car accidents are a big reason why.
Unfortunately, even life-changing car accidents require wading through the dense Louisiana legal system to recover compensation – even if the accident wasn’t your fault.
At Pierce & Shows, our Baton Rouge attorneys have been helping car accident victims claim compensation for decades. Read on to discover how we can help prepare you for what to do after a car accident in Baton Rouge and navigate these murky legal waters.
First, check for Injuries
The first thing you should do if you get into a car accident is check for any injuries that you or anyone else involved in the accident may have. If there is an urgent medical need, call an ambulance and give as many details as possible.
Something to note is that injuries might not appear instantly for some injuries will appear within the next 24-48 hours. Make sure you are checking in with your body for up to 48 hours after the accident.
Stay at the Scene
You want to make sure that you stay where the accident took place while waiting for the police to arrive. During this time, you should obtain as much information as possible for your insurance company.
The type of information you would want to gather includes:
- License plate numbers of all vehicles involved
- Make and model of all vehicles
- Insurance information of the other driver(s)
- Location of the accident
- Contact information and statements from any witnesses
- Photos (if possible) of the cars, the scene, injuries, etc.
Things to Avoid
There are two things you always want to avoid doing after a car accident.
- Never call your insurance company without first talking to a Louisiana car accident attorney
- Never speak to the other insurance companies of the other people involved in the accident
It’s important to avoid these discussions because the sad truth is that insurance companies want to minimize the amount they payout by blaming you for the accident.
At the end of the day, their job is not to look out for you, and they may try to use your words against you if you are not prepared.
That’s why it’s so important to seek the guidance of an experience car accident attorney in Louisiana as soon as possible after your accident.
Other things to know about Louisiana Accidents
Louisiana is an at-fault state, which means that the driver who causes an accident uses their insurance to pay for the other driver’s bills from the collision.
If more than one driver is at fault, they will share the blame, and their insurance companies will decide the responsibility percentage. For example, one driver could be 30% at fault, while another driver is 60% at fault, and a third is at 10% fault.
Being at fault also means that the other drivers can sue you for damages.
Like in many states, you have a limited amount of time to report an accident. In Louisiana, if you are involved in an accident resulting in injury or total property damage over $100, you must file a written report of the accident to the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections within 24 hours of the accident.
Louisiana law requires every driver to have automobile liability insurance while driving on Louisiana public roads and highways. This law protects you if you’re injured or sustain property damage due to an at-fault driver.
Contact a Louisiana Car Accident Attorney at Pierce & Shows Today
Before calling your insurance company, you should contact an attorney that will fight for you. Our experienced car accident attorneys at Pierce & Shows know how terrifying the fight against big insurance companies is, as well as all the documentation that comes along with it.
That’s why we are here to help. Call 225-388-9574 to schedule a consultation.